April 30, 2018

Announcing the 2018 Curtis Duffy Scholarship Winners

The Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Curtis Duffy Scholarship Competition. This year’s scholarship contest awarded a total of $14,000 for high school students bound for the culinary school’s Austin and Boulder campuses.

A total of eight scholarships were awarded to the winners, four for each of the culinary school locations. The scholarship winners for the Austin campus were: Isaiah Medina ($2,500), Shenara Beasley ($2,500), Martãn Cervantes-Marty ($1,000) and Emilee Lloyd ($1,000).

For the Boulder campus, the four winners were: Connor Fowler ($2,500), Katryna Newsom ($2,500), Le’andra Augustin ($1,000) and Christine Bassey Ekong ($1,000).

This is the second year the culinary school sponsored the scholarship competition in the name of the James Beard Award winning chef. Additionally, Duffy is a distinguished member of the institution’s Advisory Board.

In order to qualify for the competition, the future Escoffier students were required to complete a video detailing why they should be selected for the scholarship, how they’ll represent it and what inspired them to pursue an education in the culinary and pastry arts.

A committee from each campus was appointed to review the competition submissions and help select the winners. Curtis Duffy was a part of the final selection process.